Joint Transportation Review Committee

SENATOR LAWRENCE K. GROOMS

SENATOR HUGH K. LEATHERMAN, SR. SENATOR CHAUNCEY K. GREGORY SENATOR HARVEY S. PEELER SENATOR GERALD MALLOY REPRESENTATIVE DEBORAH A. LONG REPRESENTATIVE BILL WHITMIRE MR. REID BANKS MR. PATTERSON SMITH



DAVID J. OWENS RESEARCH DIRECTOR

KENNETH M. MOFFITT

RICHARD P. FULMER
HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES COUNSEL

ARYN BAXA
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT

1101 PENDLETON STREET · SUITE 203 P.O. BOX 142 · COLUMBIA, S.C. 29202 STRANSCOMM@SCSENATE.GOV · 803-212-6400

MEMORANDUM

Date: December 19, 2014
To: Interested Parties
From: David Owens

Re: 3rd District DOT Commission - letters of intent

The following individuals have notified the Joint Transportation Review Committee (JTRC) of their intent to apply and be screened for consideration of election to the South Carolina Department of Transportation Commission:

3rd Congressional District

Dr Ben Davis -- Greenwood

Mr. Rhett Dominick -- Greenwood

Mr. Rex F. Rice -- Easley

The JTRC has begun the screening process to determine whether the applicants meet the requirements provided by law to serve on the Commission. The screening process includes an investigation and a public hearing conducted by the ten-member JTRC and its staff. Applicants must complete a comprehensive personal data questionnaire, a financial disclosure, and a South Carolina Ethics Commission Statement of Economic Interests form. A credit check and a South Carolina Law Enforcement Division background check will also be conducted.

A public hearing will be held at a later date. Only individuals found qualified by the JTRC may stand for election. One commissioner from the district will be elected by those members of the General Assembly who reside in the 3rd Congressional district.

The election is to fill an unexpired term. The term ends on February 15, 2016.